Saturday, May 8, 2010

Force Fed Patriots

I’ve had a lot of requests for some FFP stuff, so I’m glad I was finally able to get a hold of the tapes. Dave (who also ran the Commercial Street Club and sang in Now or Never) was the band’s only constant member, and they went through several incarnations over the years. The original FFP was a punk cover band formed with Dave on guitar, Frank on bass, Chris on vocals, and Debbie on drums in 1987. They only played out a couple of times, but managed to record a two-song demo (one song is a GBH cover originally entitled “Knife’s Edge”; I’m not sure about the other one). The band got back together in 1988 as a three-piece with Dave on guitar, Derek on drums and Kevin on bass (Derek and Kevin later joined the Rising Sun). This time the band wrote some original songs, and once again recorded a two-song demo before splitting up. After Now or Never folded in 1992, Dave decided to make use of the name for a third time. He needed a house band for the Commercial Street Club, and already had a FFP tattoo. This incarnation was around for about a year, with Dave on guitar again, Klint on bass, Kit (aka Eggboy) on vocals and Jody on drums. They recorded the full-length “Flag Flying Parade” demo in 1992. The tape has a goofy, vaguely political style, and features some prank calls made by members of the band (a popular form of entertainment in the days before caller ID). FFP broke up for the final time in 1993.

1987 Demo

1. Edge of a Knife

2. War Games

1988 Demo

3. Force Fed Patriots

4. Polyester Beauty Queen

Flag Flying Parade Demo

5. Bush Duke Puke

6. Force Fed

7. Faith

8. Myself

9. Saturday

10. Fuckin Shit

11. Mistake

12. Hello?

13. Circus

14. Man

15. Rage (live)

16. Mirror

17. Snake

18. Myself II (live)

19. Hello? II

Thanks again to Dave for getting this stuff to me.



Jason Moore said...

Dont know if anyone will get this but if you do look me up sometime, Im the original guitarist and vocals to a band called Breadstick Fettish we were the opening house band with FFP at the Commercial Street Club in those days early 90's. When I ran across this article it brought back memories.

K_I_T said...

Hey, this is Kit! Thanks for posting this! eggs!

Johnathan Bingham said...

Holy shit! Kit, how have you been? Don't know how regular anyone checks this stuff. It brings back some memories looking at this stuff for sure.

Casey said...

I know I requested it and you gave it Gabe! You're so fantastic and thank you for this, I loved this band, saw them in two(?-) carnations I believe. At Club Slam and at The Warehouse in Joplin for sure. I really loved these guys. Their look and their band name and their sound was just awesome to me. Big fan here and thank you for delivering my friend.


Casey said...

Listening to this now, starts with the GBH cover. AWESOME!

platypus72 said...

Frank and I started the Commercial Street Club space. Great to see this blog!

Big Kansas said...

Hey, this is Chris, the original lead singer! Wow, the things you find on the internet!We played twice-Mother's Subs (above the old Liberty Records on National), and open mic night at Lindbergh's (good turnout!). Didn't record a demo per se, but recorded entire set in Frank's garage.Last I heard he still has it(lives in Seattle).
No 'Knife Edge', but set included "No Survivors" and "Big Women"-GBH,"Blitzkrieg Bop"-Ramones,"War Games"-Iron Cross,"Coup d'etat"-Circle Jerks, and a few others, including a couple originals penned by Dave.
Thanks for posting this blog, it really brings back some super cool memories. I'm a 45 year old machinist in Kansas now, but I can remember the faces in the Lindbergh's mosh pit like it was yesterday.
Lost touch with most of them afterwards, but so cool to see Dave D. tried to keep it going. His classic punk buzzsaw guitar, Frank P.'s 'Flea-like' bass playing, and Debbie H. was an incredible drummer for IIRC 15 years old.
Once again, many thanks for blogging this blast from the past!

Big Kansas said...

After downloading the music, the 'Knife Edge' cover finally came back to me!Oh, to be 19 again!

MaryBeth P said...

Can anyone post a link to download their album? Can't wait to hear Fuckin Shit again!!