Friday, June 27, 2008

Squelch-Unreleased Demo

Squelch wasn’t a punk band in the strict sense of the word. With Jay’s (guitar/vocals) white boy rap style, Bill’s spot-on drumming, and Quarter’s funky bass playing, they kind of had a weird punk/rap/groove sound that I for one found to be rather good. They were the de facto house band and the old Harper’s Bizarre club, and got to open for some fairly big acts. This demo was produced in 1997, and was the only recording made by the band. The group decided not to release it for reasons I still don’t understand, as the sound quality and playing are great. This is the first time it’s been made available to the general public.

1. Kill Me a Hippie
2. Dream
3. What’s the Point?
4. Fuck the Blue
5. Redneck Dick
6. You’re Gonna Burn
7. Grey
8. Slick 50
9. Fight for Your Right to Party
10. Cheat to Win


No comments: